"The musical version of James Jones's army novel is executed with skill – but you're left wondering, why make it now?"
-The Guardian-

"Sir Tim Rice's musical has many faults, but it wins you over"
-The Independent-

"Tim Rice’s new musical, From Here to Eternity, achieves a potent sense of atmosphere and speaks about frustrated yearning"
-The Daily Telegraph-

Sorry, From Here To Eternity closed on 29 Mar 2014


Give us your email and we will tell you when it opens.


Don't worry we NEVER share your e-mail address and you can unsubscribe at any time.

About the show

From Here to Eternity will follow Dance sensation Burn the Floor at the Shaftesbury Theatre in London's West End. This brand new musical is adapted from the 1951 novel by James Jones and features music by newcomer Stuart Brayson, and lyrics by multi-award winner Tim Rice, who provided the lyrics to West End hits such as The Lion King and Chess.

The show features a book by Bill Oates and will be directed by Tamara Harvey.

Set on the Hawaiian island of Oahu in 1941 during the attack on Pearl Harbor, From Here to Eternity is loosely based on Jones' own wartime experiences. The plot follows a selection of military officers who are engaged in a number of different romantic involvements. The book was heavily censored at the time due to the homosexual passages. The film of the same name, released in 1953 become iconic thanks to the cast which included Burt Lancaster, Mongomery Clift, Deborah Kerr, Donna Reed and Frank Sinatra. The novel was Jones' first publication and won him a National Book Award for fiction.

Who Should See It?

Fans of new musicals will enjoy supporting a brand new show in London's West End. No theatre-goer can resist Tim Rice's intricate and memorable lyrics, and his involvement with the production is sure to be a huge draw for fans of 'Chess', 'Joseph', 'Evita' and 'Jesus Christ Superstar'. Those who enjoyed the 1953 film will enjoy seeing the transition from screen to stage, as well as those familiar with the original 1951 novel.

Playing at

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
WC2H 8DP
Seating Plan
Map

Shaftesbury Theatre seating plan

Booking period

SHOW OPENED:
30th Sep 2013

BOOKING FROM:
22nd Feb 2020

BOOKING UNTIL:
29th Mar 2014

Running time

2 hours 45mins

Children